VGRequirements Forums  

Go Back   VGRequirements Forums > News, System Requirements, Deals, Trades, and Giveaways. > PC Hardware & Software News

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2010, 11:44 AM
Agoroth's Avatar
Agoroth Agoroth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 157
Default Assassin's Creed 2 PC version includes a new type of DRM

Advertisement

http://store.steampowered.com/app/33230/

"3rd-party DRM: UBISOFT REQUIRES A PERMANENT HIGH SPEED INTERNET CONNECTION AND CREATION OF A UBISOFT ACCOUNT TO PLAY THIS VIDEO GAME AT ALL TIMES."


PC gamers are not happy:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...play.php?f=381


It's also 10$ more expensive than most other PC titles.


Bummer. I was looking forward to this game.


Edit: Even Rockpapershotgun implores you to avoid the game: http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2010...geddon-part-2/

Edit 2: Yet another article: http://www.computerandvideogames.com...35290&site=pcg

Last edited by Agoroth; 02-23-2010 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 02-23-2010, 01:02 PM
Jay's Avatar
Jay Jay is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: All over the internets
Posts: 8,008
Default

yeah the internet requirement is rather dissapointing, I might just end up buying this game on the PS3 afterall.
__________________
Follow VGRequirements on Twitter!

Everything you need to know about Giveaways on VGRequirements

My Steam ID:
http://steamcommunity.com/id/jayvgr

VGRequirements will NEVER ask you for your password to ANY website or service, if you get a private message asking you for one...let me know IMMEDIATELY. VGRequirements does NOT alert people if they have virus/spyware related issues. If you get any Private Message claiming we do, please do NOT click on any links in the private message and FORWARD the message to me IMMEDIATELY.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2010, 01:54 PM
Mutte's Avatar
Mutte Mutte is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Belgium, Beveren
Posts: 967
Send a message via MSN to Mutte
Default

This is a pain in the ass for me.
I would've tried it out illegally at first, I guess it will be a non-buy then.
__________________
Add me on Xfire !
Add me on Steam !
Add 'Mutte' @ BFBC2
PSN ID: MutteBE
StarCraft II (EU): Mutte.806
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:16 PM
MysticStone MysticStone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Default

Its pretty bad that you need to be connected to the internet just to play the game. If someone wanted to play single player or any offline mode, they would still have to be connected to the internet to play. This is a bad move on Ubisoft part.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2010, 04:46 PM
liquid's Avatar
liquid liquid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
Default

Won't be buying any Ubisoft games on any platform until they fix this. It's insulting.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:34 AM
RAY16 RAY16 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Default

I don't approve of this shenanery at all. I won't be paying them to punch me in the kidneys.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2010, 08:50 AM
Shadowtek's Avatar
Shadowtek Shadowtek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Somewhere to your left, hiding behind the furniture
Posts: 315
Default

i really hate all this high end DRM. does anyone remember Starforce DRM? that one sucked big time. If flagged my copy of Prince of Persia: Two Throwns and repeatedly lock my pc. (I had an original disk and key) I got sick of it and sold the game to someone else. Ubisoft has a habit of going too far with their DRM. The rest s a rant for another time.

http://www.myce.com/news/Starforce-e...warning-11639/
__________________
Pay me a visit...
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/358978
Steam ID: http://steamcommunity.com/id/jareef {XRU}Shadowtek(S/S)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2010, 09:24 AM
eaze2009's Avatar
eaze2009 eaze2009 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: KIA
Posts: 159
Default

looks like piracy really got them angry.
__________________
if at first you don't succeed-call in an air strike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:26 AM
Wetrix555's Avatar
Wetrix555 Wetrix555 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 208
Send a message via Skype™ to Wetrix555
Default

Ooooooh! Aaaaaah!
__________________
Friggin awesome FIREAXE!!!!!

http://forums.vgrequirements.info/pi...6&pictureid=17
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:22 PM
bdavid81's Avatar
bdavid81 bdavid81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 83
Default

Well, thankfully, I chose the 360 route for AC2.

Still, in terms of a PC, I can't think of too many reasons why would wouldn't be connected...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assassin's Creed 3 set in Rome Mutte PC Hardware & Software News 19 03-15-2010 01:57 PM
Assassin's Creed Tyran General Forum 9 01-23-2010 12:52 AM
Assassin's Creed II ending *SPOILER* noob1230 Console Gaming 0 11-25-2009 07:19 PM
Ubisoft teases more Assassin's Creed in 2010, new IP Jay PC Hardware & Software News 1 11-05-2009 06:49 AM
Assassin's Creed 2 on the PC has been pushed back to Q1 2010 Jay PC Hardware & Software News 10 10-02-2009 10:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Click to see how many people are online