VGRequirements Forums  

Go Back   VGRequirements Forums > Off-Topic > It's Broken!

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:49 AM
($W3)HUMM3R's Avatar
($W3)HUMM3R ($W3)HUMM3R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 584
Default Metro 2033/ATI/Directx error

Advertisement

Well.
I have suffered a chain reaction. (I hope)
I'm currently trying to get Metro 2033 to run.
I can't install the directx driver that comes with the game and I think the reason for that is that I can't update my graphic drivers.

So, by solving the driver problem I hope that everything solves itself.
Anyone that can understand the ATI logs 'cause I don't understand a thing?

Anyway, what happens is that the driver installs in like 2 secs and then I get a notification @ the end of the install that an error occured during the install.

Anyone that know how to solve this without re-installing Windows?
__________________
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for life! <3

I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO JOIN THE NEW VGR FORUMS! (except for Jay) IN YO' FACE!!!

Zeek roolz!!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

  #2  
Old 04-07-2010, 07:31 AM
winter_winds's Avatar
winter_winds winter_winds is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 135
Send a message via Yahoo to winter_winds
Default

try uninstall ur ATI driver 1st.

Can u post the error message here??
__________________
| AMD Phenom™ II X4 955 BE | ECS 780GM-A Ultra | 4 GB DDR II 800 MHz Dual Channel | AMD Radeon™ HD 6870 1GB DDR5 | Windows®7™ Ultimate 64bit |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2010, 09:15 AM
($W3)HUMM3R's Avatar
($W3)HUMM3R ($W3)HUMM3R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter_winds View Post
try uninstall ur ATI driver 1st.

Can u post the error message here??
I have uninstalled the drivers and used driver cleaner or wth it's name was.
The only thing that happened was that I didn't have a driver at all. (After trying to install ofc.)

Oh, and the ATI uninstaller don't find a driver.
But it is still installed.








And that's all that shows.
I don't understand a thing.
__________________
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for life! <3

I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO JOIN THE NEW VGR FORUMS! (except for Jay) IN YO' FACE!!!

Zeek roolz!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2010, 01:03 AM
winter_winds's Avatar
winter_winds winter_winds is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 135
Send a message via Yahoo to winter_winds
Default

it's possible that ur driver installer was corrupted...try download new one..
that was happened to me before...
__________________
| AMD Phenom™ II X4 955 BE | ECS 780GM-A Ultra | 4 GB DDR II 800 MHz Dual Channel | AMD Radeon™ HD 6870 1GB DDR5 | Windows®7™ Ultimate 64bit |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:27 AM
($W3)HUMM3R's Avatar
($W3)HUMM3R ($W3)HUMM3R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter_winds View Post
it's possible that ur driver installer was corrupted...try download new one..
that was happened to me before...
I've downloaded 3 of them. :/
But I can always try again.
Oh, I tried an old one (9.12) and it was missing files.

If I don't solve this until next week I'm going to re-install Winblows.

EDIT: Tried the installer with the display driver only but still the same problem.
And I tried to do it in safe mode yesterday but the installation couldn't find a "System specification finder" (or wth its name was.)
So I couldn't install.

EDIT2: I have now contacted AMD and I hope I'll get a respond soon. (After I failed with the feedback survey. xD )

EDIT3: And here is the directX error log.
Spoiler
__________________
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for life! <3

I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO JOIN THE NEW VGR FORUMS! (except for Jay) IN YO' FACE!!!

Zeek roolz!!!

Last edited by ($W3)HUMM3R; 04-11-2010 at 04:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2010, 03:04 PM
($W3)HUMM3R's Avatar
($W3)HUMM3R ($W3)HUMM3R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 584
Default

Ok.
It's now confirmed for the fourth time that re-installing windows solves the driver problem.
Will try to install DX soon.
__________________
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for life! <3

I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO JOIN THE NEW VGR FORUMS! (except for Jay) IN YO' FACE!!!

Zeek roolz!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ati driver, directx, metro 2033, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Left 4 Dead 2 Demo Error ChrisDok77 It's Broken! 17 06-23-2010 03:13 AM
METRO 2033 System Requirements Jay System Requirements 13 04-14-2010 03:34 AM
Free Copy of Metro 2033 on steam! (3/31/10) Jay Giveaways 28 03-31-2010 11:59 PM
EVE: Burst Error System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-23-2009 04:07 AM
Colin McRae: Dirt 2 supports DirectX 11 Mutte PC Hardware & Software News 2 10-22-2009 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Click to see how many people are online