VGRequirements Forums  

Go Back   VGRequirements Forums > News, System Requirements, Deals, Trades, and Giveaways. > System Requirements

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-24-2010, 12:20 PM
tonytober tonytober is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Advertisement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay View Post
Grand Theft Auto 4
Publisher: Rockstar
Developer: Rockstar

Minimum System Requirements
OS: Windows XP/Vista
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO @ 1.8 GHz/AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.4 GHz
Memory: 1.5 GB
Hard Drive: 16 GB Free
Video Memory: 256 MB (nVidia GeForce 7900/ATI Radeon X1900)
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible
DirectX: 9.0c
Keyboard & Mouse
DVD Rom Drive

Recommended System Requirements

OS: Windows XP/Vista
Processor: Intel Core 2 QUAD @ 2.4 GHz/AMD Phenom X3 @ 2.1 GHz
Memory: 2 GB (2.5 GB for Vista)
Hard Drive: 18 GB Free
Video Memory: 512 MB (nVidia GeForce 8600/ATI 3870)
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible
DirectX: 9.0c or 10
Keyboard & Mouse
DVD Rom Drive

also known as:
GTA IV
GTA 4
Hey guyz,
I have:
-i7 875K OCed to 3.5Ghz
-2X Ati Radeon HD5850 (Crossfired, means 2GB of Video RAM)
-4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
-Win7 64-bit
-Creative SoundBlaster Fatal1ty Titanium
-DirectX 11

I'm raising everything maxed out and I'm lagging at 15 FPS. Can anyone tell me why ? In Crysis, I maxed out and made 49FPS benched average. GTA 4 is not possibly more crazy than Crysis... Please reply and help. I appreciate it
Reply With Quote

Advertisement

  #22  
Old 08-24-2010, 12:55 PM
RAY16 RAY16 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonytober View Post
Hey guyz,
I have:
-i7 875K OCed to 3.5Ghz
-2X Ati Radeon HD5850 (Crossfired, means 2GB of Video RAM)
-4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
-Win7 64-bit
-Creative SoundBlaster Fatal1ty Titanium
-DirectX 11

I'm raising everything maxed out and I'm lagging at 15 FPS. Can anyone tell me why ? In Crysis, I maxed out and made 49FPS benched average. GTA 4 is not possibly more crazy than Crysis... Please reply and help. I appreciate it
I'd say GTA IV is more stressful than Crysis as far as CPU power goes, but you shouldn't be getting 15FPS with that setup. One thing to note is that GTA IV isn't really GPU-bound outside of its obscene video memory requirements. Your crossfire 5850's have far less to do in GTA IV than they do in Crysis.

Not sure what would be causing it, and I'm not sure what to suggest apart from the standard checklist.
  • Do a general PC maintenance run. Clean off some HDD space, defrag (not if you're using an SSD, though), make sure your drivers are up to date, make sure you have the latest Application Profile add-on for your video drivers, etc.
  • Make sure your system isn't overheating and getting throttled down.
  • Turn off GTA IV's clip capture feature if you don't plan on using it.
  • Don't set traffic density higher than 50 or so (definitely not 100). There's really no benefit, it just makes driving a chore and is more of a performance drain than it's worth.
  • Try dropping the primary shadow setting to High (you can leave night shadows on Very High). The shadowing system isn't the most optimized and I think even high-end systems might have issues with Very High.

ATI will be releasing the 10.8 drivers on Wednesday, so if you're going to do a system maintenance run I'd do it then so you can get everything done at once. If you do update to the 10.8's don't forget to also install the application profiles since they contain all of the game-specific settings for crossfire.

Last edited by RAY16; 08-24-2010 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-24-2010, 01:24 PM
($W3)HUMM3R's Avatar
($W3)HUMM3R ($W3)HUMM3R is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonytober View Post
Hey guyz,
I have:
-i7 875K OCed to 3.5Ghz
-2X Ati Radeon HD5850 (Crossfired, means 2GB of Video RAM)
-4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
-Win7 64-bit
-Creative SoundBlaster Fatal1ty Titanium
-DirectX 11

I'm raising everything maxed out and I'm lagging at 15 FPS. Can anyone tell me why ? In Crysis, I maxed out and made 49FPS benched average. GTA 4 is not possibly more crazy than Crysis... Please reply and help. I appreciate it

Have you updated GTA?
Might be a stupid question but I forget to do it with some games.
I remember my GTA running at 4 FPS at medium setting with a 4890, Phenom II 965 and 8 gigs of ram. xD
__________________
S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for life! <3

I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO JOIN THE NEW VGR FORUMS! (except for Jay) IN YO' FACE!!!

Zeek roolz!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
grand theft auto iv system requirements

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grand Theft Auto 2 (PC) System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-23-2009 03:21 AM
Grand Theft Auto (PC) System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-22-2009 01:11 PM
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (PC) System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-22-2009 12:49 PM
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (PC) System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-22-2009 12:49 PM
Grand Theft Auto III (PC) System Requirements Jay System Requirements 0 10-22-2009 12:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Click to see how many people are online