VGRequirements Forums

VGRequirements Forums (http://forums.vgrequirements.info/index.php)
-   It's Broken! (http://forums.vgrequirements.info/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   NHL '98 in W7 64-bit (http://forums.vgrequirements.info/showthread.php?t=9535)

($W3)HUMM3R 02-28-2010 01:47 PM

NHL '98 in W7 64-bit
 
Hi

I'm trying to get NHL '98 to run with my OS. (And it's not going well.)
When I try to install i get a popup that says something like "this installer doesn't support a x64 OS bla bla bla..."
After doing some thinking I came up with a great idea.
"Hey, I should try to install it with Dosbox!"

And now I feel like I'm full of fail because I can't enter the damn subfolders on the disc!
If someone know how to do it, post it here!
It's even better if you know how to get it to run without Dosbox.

All HELP will be appreciated.


I've gotten this far:
http://upload.snelhest.org/images/100228ScreenShot.jpg

EDIT: Ok, ok.
I'm making progress.
This was NOT like Rayman.
NHL98 was ofcourse a subfolder. (fail)

Now I have made it to the point were I have to get the setup.exe to run.

Mutte 02-28-2010 04:06 PM

After searching on the internet for a bit, I found this:

Quote:

Figured it out, had to mount the ISO using magic disc and then run it using PSXeven, haven't tested it with ePSXe but it should work all the same. ^_^ Yay for me.
I have no idea if it'll solve your problem (the guy had Windows Vista 64 bit).

Good luck out there buddy, you're gonna need it. :shooter:

($W3)HUMM3R 02-28-2010 06:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mutte (Post 18312)
After searching on the internet for a bit, I found this:



I have no idea if it'll solve your problem (the guy had Windows Vista 64 bit).

Good luck out there buddy, you're gonna need it. :shooter:

Yea, I've found that too.
I don't think that will help me as I have an original copy of this game.
And that seem to be for the PS1 version.

But thx anyway. :)

teekay4242 04-05-2010 04:23 PM

So, wait. Have you gotten the setup to run yet? Is it DOS-native, or Windows native? I find it hard to imagine that they'd have shipped NHL '98 as a DOS-native game.

Can you show me the disc layout/contents?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mutte (Post 18312)
After searching on the internet for a bit, I found this:

I have no idea if it'll solve your problem (the guy had Windows Vista 64 bit).

Good luck out there buddy, you're gonna need it. :shooter:

Yeah, that's for running the Playstation version in an emulator...totally unrelated, here.

($W3)HUMM3R 04-05-2010 05:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by teekay4242 (Post 20143)
So, wait. Have you gotten the setup to run yet? Is it DOS-native, or Windows native? I find it hard to imagine that they'd have shipped NHL '98 as a DOS-native game.

Can you show me the disc layout/contents?

I'm pretty sure it's Windows native.
But how the hell am I supposed to get this to run on x64 then? :(
Will post pics of the disc contents when I get the time.

RAY16 04-05-2010 07:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ($W3)HUMM3R (Post 20150)
I'm pretty sure it's Windows native.
But how the hell am I supposed to get this to run on x64 then? :(
Will post pics of the disc contents when I get the time.

The installer is probably a 16-Bit application, so you can't. 64-Bit versions of windows cannot run 16-bit code. Although, I have run into situations where there's a 16-Bit executable that launches the installer, but the installer itself is 32-Bit. Check the autorun.inf file to see which executable it's pointing to, and then look around the disc to see if there's a setup executable other than the one that autorun is referencing.

VirtualBox has some basic 3D support, I think. You could also try installing Windows XP on a virtual machine using VirtualBox and see if that works.

Or, if you don't have any moral or ethical issues with "acquiring" a really old game, just grab the PSOne version and emulate it.

That's about all I can suggest.

teekay4242 04-11-2010 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RAY16 (Post 20154)
VirtualBox has some basic 3D support, I think. You could also try installing Windows XP on a virtual machine using VirtualBox and see if that works.

I doubt that this game was even 3D-accelerated (I'm guessing it was all software-mode 3D), so, it might actually work decently in a virtual machine.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.